Chill Out

Yes, it’s HOT!  Duh, it’s the Southern San Joaquin Valley!  This week we are enjoying a bit of a reprieve at 90 degrees; last week it was 106 – yikes.  So, how does one keep cool when it’s this hot?  Air-conditioning, swimming, and frozen treats.

I’m sharing a recipe for a delicious Strawberry Coconut Frozen Pop from Lisa at Sweet 2 Eat Baking. Click on the picture to get the recipe.

 Strawberry Coconut Ice Pops - From Lisa at Sweet 2 Eat Baking
Strawberry Coconut Ice Pops – From Lisa at Sweet 2 Eat Baking

I’m a California native and could take the easy access to fresh produce for granted but I don’t. I treasure these hot days because they bring local fresh fruit.  Amazing melons and icy cold sliced mango’s are my favorite.

Fresh Fruita
Fresh Fruita Stand

Music to the ears and icy frozen treats for the rest of you… If you hear the bells from the La Rosa cart STOP and enjoy, a only in your hometown nostalgic trip. Since 1980 those campanas have been ringing through out The Streets of Bakersfield, bringing a little frozen joy on a hot, hot, day.

La Rosa Frozen Fruit Bars
Yay! It’s the La Rosa Man

To be continued… more frozen treats to get us through the summer.  My new favorite from my trip to Rio up next.

Leave a comment